New political districts for fall elections set by court panel

Dairyland Peach

The Special Redistricting Panel ordered by the Minnesota Supreme Court set new legislative and congressional district boundaries on Tuesday for state elections held through 2020.

Eastern Stearns County outside of St. Cloud, St. Augusta and most of Waite Park will be in state Senate District 13. Western Stearns County will be in Senate District 12 along with all of Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse and Wilkins counties and part of Douglas County. All of Todd County will be in Senate District 9 along with portions of Cass, Morrison, Todd and Wadena counties.

The new Senate Districts 9  and 12 have no incumbent residing in either district, making them open seats. State Sen. Michelle Fischbach, R-Paynesville, lives in the new District 13. State Sen. Joe Gimse, R-Willmar, who currently represents western Stearns County, has been paired against another incumbent,  Sen. Gary Kubly, DFL-Granite Falls, in the new District 17.

In the House, District 9A is also an open seat. Incumbents residing in other area districts are as follows: District 9B – Rep. Mike LeMieur, R-Little Falls; District 12A, Rep. Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake; District 12B – Rep. Paul Anderson, R-Starbuck; District 13A – Rep. Larry Hosch, DFL-St. Joseph; District 13B – Rep. Tim O’Driscoll, R-Sartell. State Rep. Mary Franson, R-Alexandria, who currently represents Todd County, has been paired against another Republican, Mark Murdock, R-Ottertail, in the new District 8B.

The redistricting was required under the Constitution because of population shifts revealed by the 2010 U.S. Census. Each district has to have equal population within tight limits to all other districts. Each state Senate district is comprised of two state House of Representatives districts.

The new area legislative districts include the following cities and townships:

District 9A

Todd County – The cities of Bertha, Browerville, Clarissa, Eagle Bend, Hewitt, Osakis, Staples, and West Union. The townships of Bartlett, Bertha, Birchdale, Burleene, Eagle Valley, Fawn Lake, Germania, Gordon, Hartford, Iona, Kandota, Leslie, Little Elk, Little Sauk, Moran, Reynolds, Staples, Stowe Prairie, Turtle Creek, Villard, Ward, West Union and Wykeham.

Cass County – The cities of East Gull Lake, Lake Shore, Motley and Pillager. The townships of Ansel, Becker, Bungo, Byron, Fairview, Home Brook, Loon Lake, Maple, May, Meadow Brook, Moose Lake, Poplar, Sylvan, Walden and Wilson.

Wadena County – The cities of Aldrich, Nimrod, Sebeka, Staples, Verndale and Wadena. The townships of  Aldrich, Bullard, Leaf River, Lyons, Meadow, North Germany, Orton, Red Eye, Rockwood, Thomastown, Wadena and Wing River.

District 9B

Todd County – The cities of Burtrum, Grey Eagle, Long Prairie and Swanville. The townships of Bruce, Burnhamville, Grey Eagle, Long Prairie and Round Prairie.

Morrison County – The entire county except for the townships of Lakin and Morrill.

District 12A

All of Big Stone, Grant, Stevens, Traverse and Wilkins counties

Douglas County – The cities of Brandon, Evansville, Kensington and Millerville. The townships of Brandon, Evansville, Holmes City, Lund, Millerville, Moe, Solem and Urness.

Pope County – The cities of Cyrus, Farwell and Starbuck. The townships of Ben Wade, Blue Mounds, Hoff, Langhei, New Prairie, Nora, Walden and White Bear Lake.

District 12B

Stearns County – The cities of Albany, Belgrade, Brooten, Elrosa, Freeport, Greenwald, Lake Henry, Meire Grove, Melrose, New Munich, Sauk Centre, Spring Hill, St. Anthony, St. Martin and St. Rosa. The townships of Albany, Ashley, Crow Lake, Crow River, Farming, Getty, Grove, Krain, Lake George, Lake Henry, Melrose, Millwood, North Fork, Oak, Raymond, Sauk Centre, Spring Hill and St. Martin.

Douglas County – All of the cities of Forada and Garfield and 655 residents on the south edge of Alexandria. All of the townships of Hudson, La Grand, Lake Mary and Orange.

Pope County – The cities of Brooten, Glenwood, Long Beach, Lowry, Sedan, Villard and Westport. The townships of Bangor, Barsness, Chippewa Falls, Gilchrist, Glenwood, Grove Lake, Lake Johanna, Leven, Minnewaska, Reno, Rolling Forks and Westport.

District 13A

Stearns County – All of the cities of Avon, Clearwater, Cold Spring, Eden Valley, Kimball, Paynesville, Richmond, Rockville, Roscoe and St. Joseph and Precinct 4 of Waite Park. All of the townships of Collegeville, Eden Lake, Fair Haven, Luxemburg, Lynden, Maine Prairie, Munson, Paynesville, Wakefield and Zion and most of St. Joseph township except for the eastern edge. Avon Township is split with the southern part of the township in District 13A.

District 13B

Stearns County – The cities of Holdingford, Sartell and St. Stephen. All of the townships of Brockway, Holding, LeSauk, and St. Wendel. Avon Township is split with the northern part of the township in District 13B.

Benton County – All of the city of Sartell and most of the city of Sauk Rapids. All of Sauk Rapids Township plus six residents of Minden Township.

Congressional Districts

All of Todd County is in the 7th Congressional District, now represented by Rep. Collin Peterson. Stearns County is split between the 6th District on the eastern side of the county and the 7th District on the west. Munson Township is split between the two districts. Besides the eastern portion of Munson, the western border of the 6th District includes the townships of (from north to south) Holding, Avon, Collegeville, Wakefield and Eden Lake. The eastern border of the 7th District includes (from north to south) the townships of Krain, Albany, Farming, part of Munson, and all of Paynesville. The 6th District is represented by Rep. Michelle Bachmann, but the new lines put her residence in the 4th District. She said Tuesday she will run in the 6th District.h


Comments Closed