Public meetings set regarding impaired waters of Long Prairie River

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and the Douglas, Todd, Morrison, East Otter Tail and Wadena soil and water conservation districts (SWCD) are hosting a public informational meetings to discuss new lake and stream impairments in the Long Prairie River Watershed.

Newly-listed water bodies include: Nelson, Fish, Twin, Henry, Agnes, Winona, Echo, Crooked (East), Jessie and Latimer Lakes; and Spruce, Harris, Eagle, Moran and Venewitz Creeks.

Citizen input will be sought on the upcoming Total Maximum Daily Load Plan that will be written this summer for these impaired waters.

Meetings will be held in two locations:

• Alexandria: Wednesday, March 12, from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. at the Douglas County Public Works Conference Room, 526 Willow Drive; Alexandria; and

• Long Prairie: Friday, March 21, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Todd County Commissioners’ Board Room, 215 First Ave. S., Long Prairie.

To learn more about these meetings contact Steve Henry, Douglas SWCD at (320) 763-3191 or Amy Warnberg, Todd SWCD at (320) 732-2644.