CMCU announces 2014 scholarship winners

Central Minnesota Credit Union (CMCU) chose recipients for its 2014 scholarships.  A total of $16,000 in scholarships was awarded; $12,000 in video scholarships and $4,000 for essay scholarships.

Every year, CMCU offers scholarships to CMCU members to further their education at a two or four year college.

More than 169 students applied for the scholarships throughout CMCU’s field of membership. Video scholarships were based on a creative and unique 30 – 60 second  video answering the question “If you had $75 to go out and make a difference in your community, what would you do?”

Essay scholarships were based on the same question.

The $1,000 video scholarship winners are Morgan Ostendorf – Melrose, Allison Smith – Perham, Kelvin Schutz – Cold Spring, Bailee Payne – Burtrum, Katie Wocken – Shoreview, Alexander Wocken  – Shoreview, Kari Hoeft – Hawick, Vanessa Spohn – Albany, Hannah Salto – Long Prairie, Trisha Molitor – Belgrade, John Ruprecht – Paynesville and Ben Sullivan – Perham.

The $500 essay scholarship winners include: Sadie Schornack – Perham, Kayla Orbeck – Cold Spring, Kristin Mehr – Richmond, Christina Sand – Freeport, Alicia Neuman – Avon, Lauren Vaske – Paynesville, Meghan Wick – St. Joseph and John Beckius – Avon.

“We are honored to have the opportunity to present these students with scholarships,” stated Central Minnesota Credit Union President/CEO, Rick Odenthal.  “They are our future leaders and we encourage them to continue to work hard and make a difference.”