Area candidates filing for 2014 election; filing period closes June 3

Candidates have begun filing for the 2014 general election. The filing period opened Tuesday and runs through Tuesday, June 3.

The filing period for most city councils and school boards in which no primary election will be held, will be later in the summer.

Among the area candidates filing this week were:

Minnesota House District 9A, which includes Long Prairie and the southeast corner of Todd County and most of Morrison County: incumbent Ron Kresha, R-Little Falls.

Minnesota House District 13A, which includes much of Stearns County between but not including St. Cloud, Sauk Centre and Belgrade, incumbent Jeff Howe, R-St. Cloud, and challenger Emily Jensen, DFL-St. Joseph.

Minnesota House District 13B, which includes Holidingford, Sartell and Sauk Rapids: incumbent Tim O’Driscoll, R-Sartell.

Stearns County Commissioner, District 1, DeWayne Mareck of St. Cloud.

Stearns County Commissioner, District 5, incumbent Steve Notch of Freeport.

Stearns County Auditor/Reasurer, incumbent Randy R. Schreifels of Clearwater.

Stearns County Recorder, Diane Grundhoefer of St. Cloud.

Stearns County Sheriff, Mark J. Bromenschenkel of Sartell and incumbent John L. Sanner of St. Joseph.Stearns County Attorney, Mark Hansen and incumbent Janelle Kendall, both of St. Cloud.

Todd County Commissioner, District 4, incumbent David Kircher of Burtrum.

Todd County Auditor/Treasurer, Denise Gaida of Browerville.

Todd County Recorder, incumbent Cheryl Perish of Browerville.

Todd County Attorney, Chuck Rasmussen of Long Prairie.

7th District District Court Judge, Frank J. Kundrat of St. Cloud, David R. Battey, Conrad Freeberg, Frederick L. Grunke, Michelle W. Lawson of Dilworth, Andrew Robert Pearson of St. Cloud, Ann L. Carrott, Leonard A. Weiler of Sartell, Sarah Hennesy, Mark F. Hansen of Ottertail, Robert J. Raupp of Sauk Rapids, Galen J. Vaa of Moorhead, Michael S. Jese of Sauk Rapids, Steven A. Anderson of Princeton, Terry Graff of Sabin, and Steven. J. Cahill.

Morrison County Commissioner, District 5, incumbent Duane Johnson of Swanville.

Morrison County Recorder, Eileen Holtberg of Little Falls.

Morrison County Sheriff, Shawn Larsen of Little Falls, Dan “Scoop” Rocheleau of Pierz, Thomas “Tom” Justin of Royalton and Charles T. Strack of Little Falls.

Morrison County Attorney, incumbent Brian Middendorf.

Pope County Auditor/Treasurer, incumbent Donna Quandt of Villard.