Stearns, Todd, Morrison sheriff candidates all face August primary

Stearns, Todd and Morrison counties will all have primary elections on Aug. 12 for sheriff. The primary will narrow the field to two candidates in each county, who will then square off in the November general election. The candidate filing period ended on Tuesday, June 3.

A  second filing period for city, township and school board elections in which primaries will not be held will be from July 29 to Aug. 12.

In Stearns County, incumbent Sheriff John Sanner has two challengers: Mark Bromenschenkel, who is a county commissioner, and Tim Kantos.

In Todd County, incumbent Sheriff Don Asmus was appointed last winter to fill out the term of Pete Mikkelson, who retired. Asmus is being challenged by Jon Barber, Kevin Langer, Lonnie Marcyes and Steve Och.

In  Morrison County, incumbent Sheriff Michel Wetzel is retiring. The candidates to replace him are Tom Justin, Shawn Larsen, Dan “Scoop” Rocheleau and Charles Strack.

Morrison County will also have a primary election for county auditor/treasurer. Incumbent Russ Nygren is retiring. Three candidates filed to replace him: Tammy Giuliani, Debora Lowe and Ashley Storck.

Barring a write-in candidate, three other races have two candidates each who will most likely make it to the November election.

Incumbent Stearns County Recorder Diane Grundhoefer is being challenged by John Beuning.

Incumbent Stearns County Attorney Janelle Kendall is facing off with Mark Hansen.

In the race for Todd County Commissioner in District 2, which includes the cities of Bertha, Clarissa, Eagle Bend and Hewitt plus the surrounding townships, the incumbent Gary Kneisl is running against Kevin A. Boyer.


In a number of other area races, only one candidate filed, virtually assuring their elections in November. Area candidates running unopposed include:

Stearns County — Both county commisioners up for re-election, DeWayne Mareck and Steven Notch; incumbent Auditor/Treasurer Randy Schreifels; Soil and Water District 1 Supervisor Charles Uphoff and Soil and Water District 5 Supervisor Thomas Gregory

Todd County — Incumbent District 4 Commissioner David Kircher; County Auditor/Treasurer Denise Gaida; County Recorder Cheryl Perish; County Attorney Chuck Rasmussen; Soil and Water District 1 Supervisor Norman Krause; Soil and Water District 3 Supervisor Dale Katterhagen; and Soil and Water District 5 Supervisor Tom Williamson.

Morrison County — Incumbent District 5 Commissioner Duane Johnson of Swanville; County Recorder Eileen Holtberg and County Attorney Brian Middendorf.